Texas, Hill County, Brandon
One of earliest grist mills in Hill County. Built (1868) by Dr. Jas. T. Harrington, who also founded town of Brandon. Corn meal, basic to settlers' diet, was ground here. Dr. Harrington built a dam on White Rock Creek near here as a water source for power in the millhouse. His grist mill served a wide area for nearly 50 years. A grist mill was a primary need in every early community. Where bread could be made, settlements thrived. A good water supply and a grist mill were essential to a successful town. Today only stone foundations of Old Brandon Mill remain.
(Industry & Commerce) Includes location, directions, 3 photos, GPS coordinates, map.

(Industry & Commerce) Includes location, directions, 3 photos, GPS coordinates, map.